the literary magazine of Gardner-Webb University


The Rash Awards

2019 Rash Award in Fiction


Matt Yeager of Edmond, Oklahoma, for “Lake Peigneur”

2019 Rash Award in Poetry


Jenn Blair of Winterville, Georgia, for “Blood Mountain”


2019 Fiction Honorable Mentions

Stephanie Dupal of Woodbridge, Virginia, for “Yields of Harvest”

Victoria Shannon of Cold Spring, New York, for “Kith and Kin”

2019 Poetry Honorable Mentions

Peter Bergquist of Los Angeles, California, for “At the Beach”

John Blair of San Marcos, Texas, for “Under the Volcano”

Patricia L. Hamilton of Jackson, Tennessee, for “Ghost Planes”

Luke Hankins of Asheville, North Carolina, for “Synapse”


Please view our full list of finalists for both contests.

%d bloggers like this: